Senator Lawan taken oath of office as newly elected senate President
Senate President Lawan

Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan (APC Yobe North)  defeated his opponent  of the same  All Progressive Congress (APC) Senator Alli Ndume,he  scores 79 votes  while Sen.Ndume who comes from Borno South  scored 28 votes cast. Senator Lawan become President of the 9th Senate.

Out of supposedly 109 senator-elect ,107 participated in the process with Imo North and Imo West not represented for judicial reasons.

Senator Ibrahim Lawan was nominated by Senator Yahaya Abdullahi fromAPC Kebbi North while it was seconded by Senator Solomon Olamilekan Adeola of APC Lagos West.

Senator Ali Ndume got his nomination to contest for the highest position in the senate through Senator Elisha Cliff Ishaku of PDP Adamawa North and was seconded by Senator elect Barinaba Mpigi from PDP Rivers Southeast