Bukola Saraki


Senate President Bukola Saraki has an uphill battle on his hand to save his Kwara Central Senatorial seat as he faces a poll contest with 16 other candidates, four of whom are women.

According to details published by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC),Saraki, will fly the flag of the Peoples Democratic Party in the election. The last time he contested in 2015, he ran on the All Progressives Congress platform.

His rivals in the February 16, 2019 election will include the candidates of All Progressives Congress (APC) and Africa Democratic Congress (ADC) as well as those of 14 other political parties.

The four women seeking the Kwara Central Senatorial seat with Saraki are Abubakar Khadijat Akanni of MPN, Okanlawon Adekunle Taiwo of GPN, AbdulWaheed Mariam Titilayo of ADP and AbdulSalam Kuburat of LP.

Other candidates for the seat are a former member of the State House of Assembly Dr Yahaya Oloriegbe (APC), Abdurahman Garuba (AP), Ambali Mujaheed (ACPN), Babatunde Sambo (SDP), Abdulraheem Abubakar (ADC) and Mohammed Saidu of Peoples Trust (PT).

In Kwara North, Alhaji Sodiq Umar of the APC will slug it out with Zakari Mohammed of PDP while Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed of PDP and Architect Lola Ashiru of APC are the frontline candidates in Kwara South.