President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye from the South West as the Chairman, Nigerian Communications Commission, NCC, Board.

The president also nominated Mr. Sunday Dare, media aide to the national leader of All Progressives Congress, APC, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, also from South West as the Executive Commissioner, Stakeholders Management.

Others nominated as Non-Executive Commissioners are: Aliyu Sa’idu Abubakar (North East), Clement Omeiza Baiye (North Central), Chief Okoi Ofem Obono Obla (South South), Pastor Ezekiel Yissa (North Central) and Senator Ifeanyi Ararume (South East).

A statement by the Special Adviser to president Buhari on media and publicity, Mr. Femi Adesina on Tuesday stated that the president has requested the Senate to confirm nominees into positions of Chairman, Executive Commissioner, and Non-Executive Commissioners of NCC.

This, Adesina said, was contained in a letter dated August 2, 2016, sent to President of the Senate, Abubakar Bukola Saraki.

The statement added that the nominations were in accordance with Section 8(1) of the Nigerian Communications Commission Act 2003.