…Engr. Olice Kemenanaba and Others Honoured

philip Eke, yenagoa

The Nigerian Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (NIEEE) Yenagoa Chapter has inaugurated new Executives with Engr. Tonbra Allen Diegbegha as 5th Chairman to pilot its affairs for the next two years.

The inauguration and investiture ceremony which held at the Airforce Officers Mess in Yenagoa has Engr. Joyce Odu Okafor as Deputy Chairman, Engr. Tebe Ojukonsin, General Secretary, Engr. Agbozu Ebikeseye Financial Secretary, Engr. Rasheeda Abdulkareem, Assistant Secretary, Engr. Goodluck Ofumba, Publicity Secretary. Others include, Enger. Peter A. Fanama, Technical Secretary, Etim Ofonime, Treasurer, Engr. Bright Ajoku, Ex-Official 1, and Engr. Wilson Aggrey, Ex-official 2.

The Chairman of the occasion, Engr. Akan Michael in his opening remarks said the Institute is about 40years old and has grown from a division to institution to the present status, adding that efforts are geared towards making it chartered.

Michael who is also the National Chairman of the Institute said they will engage in the development of Electrical Electronic Engineering Standards and review the adoption of IEC global standards for in country use in collaboration with the Standards Organization of Nigeria (SON).

He stated that title of the Lecture of “Decentralization of The Nigerian Electric Grid System For More Efficient Power Industry is apr and well chosen.

He advised the new Exco to weed out quacks masquerading as professionals in the state.

In his acceptance speech on behalf of the newly inaugurated executives, the Chairman, Engr. Tonbra Diegbegha, said the Institue will be at the forefront of providing framework for Electrical and Electronics practice through presentation of technical papers and will organize regular general meetings, trainings, seminars, workshops, lecture series, industry engagement through visits and monitoring of younger engineers.

Engr. Allen promised to follow through a proposed partnership deal with the Ministry of Environment to provide technical support in the design and development of Decarbonization Technology and Data Acquisition for COP 26 activities.

The Guest Lecturer, Professor Anthony Ibe in his lecture presentation title “Decentralization of The Nigerian Electric Grid System For More Efficient Power Industry” noted that the single grid system as being operated in Nigeria has become outdated stressing that the global trend in power generation, transmission and distribution is decentralization.

Earlier, the outgoing Chairman of the Institute, Engr. (Chief) James Karimo Sokari in his welcome address paid glowing tributes to the pioneer Chairman, Engr. Pastor Dika Moses who started the annual lecture series emphasized that a good leader should produce a good and capable successor.

The House Committee Chairman on Power, Hon. Mitema Obodor, represented By Barr. George Soluwa expressed commitment to work with the Institute to achieve set goals.

Engr. Olice Kemenanabo and Engr. Moses Dika were honoured as icons of the institute with the reading of their citations.

Engr. Olice Kemenanabo, Commissioner for Power, Hon. Ebitei Robert Tonyo, Engr. Boloukiye Yeri, Hon. Ere Ebikekeme in their separate solidarity messages charged the new exco to abide by the ideals of the institute and avail the public of their wealth of experience.

Prophet Alfred Munemune, aka Ororo 1 of Hallalujah Ministries was the clergy of the day, in his exhortation said God is the first and number one electrical engineer that brought light to the world through prophetic declaration. While tasking the new executives to work seriously in moving the organization to the next level of development, so he is stressed emphatically.

Leave a ReplyCancel reply